OIP Opinions concerning Procurement

Request to:
Office of Information Practices
Law used:
State of Hawaii UIPA
Status of this request:
Request Successful
Summary of Request
All OIP opinions in existence, both formal and informal, containing any of the following terms: "Request for Proposal"; "RFP"; "procurement"; and "competitive bidding".

Messages in this request

From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Jan. 25, 2023, 3 p.m.
To Office of Information Practices
Status Awaiting response
Attachments

Aloha, Pursuant to the public records law, I would like to request the following records in electronic format sent to my email address.
All OIP opinions in existence, both formal and informal, containing any of the following terms: "Request for Proposal"; "RFP"; "procurement"; and "competitive bidding".
[... Show complete request text] Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
  1. 1 year, 1 month agoJan. 25, 2023, 3 p.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Jan. 31, 2023, 10 a.m.
To Office of Information Practices

Dear Sir or Madam, As a follow-up, I would like to also clarify that if OIP can release responsive records in batches, I'd prefer receiving any informal opinions first. ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoJan. 31, 2023, 10 a.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From OIP – Office of Information Practices
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 2, 2023, 11:57 a.m.
Status Awaiting response

Dear Ms. Engebretsen: I am the attorney of the day for the Office of Information Practices (OIP) and your inquiry has been forwarded to me. Your email inquiry is prefaced by, "As a follow up..." To be clear, are you referring to a prior request that was made to OIP? If yes, please know that OIP has not received any recent request for records or other inquiry from you prior to this email received on January 31, 2023. If you intended to submit a request for these records to OIP, kindly submit the written request at your earliest convenience. Should you need further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Sincerely, Edith Feldman Staff Attorney Office of Information Practices State of Hawaii No. 1 Capitol District Building 250 S. Hotel Street, #107 Honolulu, HI 96813 Ph.: (808) 586-1400 Facsimile: (808) 586-1412 Email: <<email address>> Website: http://oip.hawaii.gov This e-mail has been sent under OIP’s “Attorney of the Day” (AOD) service. The AOD service allows anyone to ask an OIP attorney any UIPA or Sunshine Law question (chapter 92F, and part I of chapter 92, HRS). AOD advice is non-binding, general, informal guidance to the public and to agency and board personnel, and does not have the precedential value of OIP’s formal opinions.
-----Original Message----- From: Lisa Engebretsen < <name and email address> > Sent: Tuesday, January 31, 2023 10:01 AM To: OIP < <name and email address> > Subject: [EXTERNAL] Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917] Dear Sir or Madam, As a follow-up, I would like to also clarify that if OIP can release responsive records in batches, I'd prefer receiving any informal opinions first. ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 2, 2023, 11:57 a.m.: Received an email from Office of Information Practices.
From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 2, 2023, 1:59 p.m.
To Office of Information Practices

Aloha Edith, I appreciate the response. I am using UIPA.org, so maybe there was an issue with the email address. On January 25, 2023 at 3pm, I sent an email to OIP making the following request: Pursuant to the public records law, I would like to request the following records in electronic format sent to my email address. All OIP opinions in existence, both formal and informal, containing any of the following terms: "Request for Proposal"; "RFP"; "procurement"; and "competitive bidding". ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 2, 2023, 1:59 p.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 7, 2023, 9:57 a.m.
To Office of Information Practices

Aloha, just want to confirm that OIP is in receipt of my January 25th records request. ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 7, 2023, 9:57 a.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From OIP – Office of Information Practices
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 9, 2023, 7:58 a.m.
Status Awaiting response

Dear Ms. Engebretsen, I have been assigned to respond to your request, so you may send any future correspondence concerning your request to my attention at the email address below. OIP received the attached record request on February 2, 2023. We do not have any record of receiving the request prior to that date. I am in the process of first searching for OIP's informal opinions in response to your request. In case you were not aware, you may use the UIPA index on OIP's website and do keyword searches to find UIPA formal opinions by topic at any time. If you would like to conduct your own searches using OIP's index, please let me know by February 10, as that could lower your record request fees. Thank you. Lori Kato Staff Attorney Office of Information Practices State of Hawai`i No. 1 Capitol District Building 250 S. Hotel Street, #107 Honolulu, HI 96813 Ph: (808) 586-1400 Facsimile: (808) 586-1412 Email: <<email address>> Website: http://oip.hawaii.gov
-----Original Message----- From: Lisa Engebretsen < <name and email address> > Sent: Tuesday, February 7, 2023 9:57 AM To: OIP < <name and email address> > Subject: [EXTERNAL] RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917] Aloha, just want to confirm that OIP is in receipt of my January 25th records request. ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 9, 2023, 7:58 a.m.: Received an email from Office of Information Practices.
From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 21, 2023, 9:54 a.m.
To Office of Information Practices

Hi Lori, I did email OIP first on January 25, 2023. I am not sure why OIP would not have a record of that request, especially since I am using a state email address. (You can also view the record on uipa.org). If it would help, I can narrow my request to only the informal opinions. I also ask that OIP waive any applicable fees in coordination with this request, as I am seeking the records for the purpose of research necessary for the Public Utilities Commission's staff research purposes. It does not appear that the informal opinions are available on OIP's website or through Westlaw or any other means for easy research access. ... Sincerely yours Lisa Engebretsen
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 21, 2023, 9:54 a.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission)
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 21, 2023, 9:59 a.m.
To Office of Information Practices

Aloha, My UIPA request "OIP Opinions concerning Procurement" (01/25/2023) was not answered in the time defined by HAR 2-71-13. Please update me on the status of my request as soon as possible. Mahalo,
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 21, 2023, 9:59 a.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) sent a message to Office of Information Practices.
From OIP – Office of Information Practices
Subject RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917]
Date Feb. 22, 2023, 11:18 a.m.
Status Request resolved
Attachments

Dear Ms. Engebretsen, This is written to confirm our telephone call on February 21, 2023, and to respond to your email below, as well as a separate one also dated February 21, 2023. You indicated that you first emailed your record request to OIP on January 25, 2023 from your email address below (UIPA.org address). However, as I explained during our call, OIP did not receive your request until February 2, 2023. OIP responded to your February 2 request by email dated February 15, 2023, which included OIP's Notice to Requester dated February 15, 2023 and responsive records. OIP granted your request in full at no charge to you. OIP's February 15 response (see attached) was timely and consistent with Hawaii Administrative Rules section 2-71-13(a)(2). Because you indicated that you had not received OIP's February 15 response as of February 21 (at your UIPA.org address), OIP resent you our February 15 response on February 21 to your government email address. Please note that OIP did not have your government email address until you sent it to us on February 21. Also, the email you sent OIP on February 21 indicated that OIP could provide you with only informal opinions responsive to your request. However, as I explained, OIP already compiled the formal and informal opinions that you requested and provided both on February 15 and again on February 21. Lori Kato Staff Attorney Office of Information Practice State of Hawai`i No. 1 Capitol District Building 250 S. Hotel Street, #107 Honolulu, HI 96813 Ph: (808) 586-1400 Facsimile: (808) 586-1412 Email: <<email address>> Website: http://oip.hawaii.gov
-----Original Message----- From: Lisa Engebretsen < <name and email address> > Sent: Tuesday, February 21, 2023 9:59 AM To: OIP < <name and email address> > Subject: [EXTERNAL] RE: Records Request for Office of Information Practices: OIP Opinions concerning Procurement [#917] Aloha, My UIPA request "OIP Opinions concerning Procurement" (01/25/2023) was not answered in the time defined by HAR 2-71-13. Please update me on the status of my request as soon as possible. Mahalo,
  1. 1 year agoFeb. 22, 2023, 11:18 a.m.: Received an email from Office of Information Practices.
  2. 1 year agoFeb. 22, 2023, 2:36 p.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) published an attachment on request OIP Opinions concerning Procurement.
  3. 1 year agoFeb. 22, 2023, 2:36 p.m.: Lisa Engebretsen (Hawaii Public Utilities Commission) set status to 'Request Successful'.